FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Got questions, we've got answers!
1) Is this online course valid in obtaining an Arizona CCW Permit?
YES! This online course and an in-person meeting with the instructor will satisfy the requirements for eligible citizens to submit to the Arizona Department of Public Safety. After successfully completing the online course, you will book a "CCW Verification | Q & A Session" (10-15 minutes) to meet with one of our Certified Instructors to verify your information and answer any specific questions that you may have regarding the topics covered in the online class or the application process. In-person instructor sessions are conducted at our offices in Scottsdale and Tucson (AZ), Las Vegas (NV), and Costa Mesa (CA). All eligible US Citizens, including Non-Arizona Residents are able to apply for an Arizona Concealed Carry Of Weapons Permit.
This online course is the same course and information, delivered by an active Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney, Judge Pro Tem, Maricopa County Sheriff's Posse Volunteer, Certified Firearms Instructor and Master Level Competitive Shooter to thousands of students in classrooms, around the Phoenix Valley. This course delivers high quality information, just more conveniently and consistently online. The course is also captioned to allow people with hearing loss to follow along with the course.
If you are Active Duty US Armed Forces, A Veteran with a DD-214, Have A Concealed Permit from another state, A Hunter Safety Card or Certification from an NRA Certified Instructor we may be able to expedite your AZ CCW Certification and Application Process without an In-Person session with one of our instructors. Please see our list of courses and call us at 1-602-300-3550 with questions.
You'll learn the critical information needed to be an informed citizen and to carry a firearm. Additionally you learn Basic Rules of Firearm Safety, Multi-State Reciprocity, Where To Shoot, How To Avoid Conflicts and the Legalities of Use of Force. This course is developed and presented based on over 30 years of real-world experience with Arizona Laws, Firearms Safety and Training. The online portion of this course is not an NRA approved class.
The Arizona Department of Public Safety operates under A.R.S. 13-3112 and Arizona Administrative Rules R13-9-101 to R13-9-603.
2) How long is a CCW Permit valid in Arizona?
The Arizona Concealed Carry of Weapons Permit is valid for 5 years. Helpful Tip: From the date your permit is issued from The Arizona Department Of Public Safety, you should make a note on your calendar or set a reminder for 4 years and 10 months to renew your permit. This way you'll be reminded, and this will give you plenty of time to renew your permit without having to retake a CCW class and pay the fees again.
3) Is the instructor qualified to teach the online course?
YES! This course is created and presented by an acting Arizona Criminal Defense Attorney. The instructor is also a Arizona Department Of Public Safety Certified Instructor, Master Level Competitive Shooter, an active Arizona Trial Attorney/Judge Pro Tem and emphasizes the importance of the legal and mental aspects of concealed carry and the Legalities of The Use of Force. This real-world perspective offers you the most critical information you'll need to be an informed and responsible firearm owner. Our instructor has over 30 years of experience with the Arizona Legal System and Law Enforcement with regards to Firearms, Use of Deadly Force and Arizona Law. This course is not an NRA class or affiliated with the NRA.
Our team consists of highly skilled training professionals, with a variety of backgrounds including competitive shooters, attorneys, current and former Law Enforcement, Military and NRA Certified Instructors for pistol, rifle and shotgun. Additionally, we have a number of class formats and can customize learning based on your needs. Our Blended Learning offers a variety of Virtual Training options.
4) What are the requirements to apply for a CCW Permit?
• Be 21 years of age
• Be a U.S. Citizen or Lawful Resident, Non-Residents Must Be US Citizens
• Submit to a Criminal Background Investigation
• Not be a Prohibited Possessor
• Not be a Substance Abuser
• Not have a Domestic Violence Conviction
• Not a Convicted Felon
§ Unless conviction has been expunged, set aside, vacated, or your rights have been restored; not only to vote but to possess firearms & ammunition. This resulted from HB 2534 and changed Arizona law under A.R.S. 13-3112 on 9.26.2008
Additional information can be found at https://AZDPS.gov.
5) How long is this online course?
We've created these videos to ensure you are getting the most comprehensive information to be a responsible firearms owner. The total length of the online course is approximately 3 hours. This course consists of 13 video sections and video lengths varies for each. You may pause and rewind as needed to points of specific interest. To demonstrate competency, you are required to watch each video section in it's entirety (cannot fast-forward) for completion, before moving onto the next section. Please note, total course completion time may vary depending on each user.
Any course under 3 hours could not possibly cover all of the critical topics in detail, that you need to know to understand Arizona and Federal Laws. There are no shortcuts when it comes to understanding the legalities of use of force, your rights and firearm safety.
For the best retention of the information, we recommend that you set aside a few hours when you can begin and complete the online course. Try to be in a quiet place where you can focus on the instructor's presentation without distractions. If you start now, you can be done in just a few hours! You have 7 days to complete the online portion of the course.
6) Can I watch the videos on multiple devices?
Yes, you may watch videos on multiple devices such as your desktop computer, laptop, mobile phone or tablet. But for security purposes, just not at the SAME time. You must logout of the first device and may log into the second device. Just make sure you have a good internet / wifi connection and you're good to go!
The course is also CAPTIONED to allow people with hearing loss to follow along with the course. Additionally, during the COVID-19 pandemic this course is a safe alternative to classrooms filled with strangers and dealing with long waits at crowded ranges. It's also convenient for people in remote parts of the state or country to learn about firearms safety, understand the mental and legal aspects of carrying a firearm or owning one for family and home defense.
7) Can I start a section and pick up where I left off, when I login again?
Yes, you may resume where you left off. But note that if you start a section, make sure you complete that section in it's entirety before logging out. Otherwise, you will be required to repeat that section again to move onto the next. There are 12 video sections that range from about 3 minutes to 30 minutes each, so it's easy to set aside time to complete your course on your schedule. If you want to re-watch a section you can do that. We want you to be able to walk away from this course with information that will help you make good decisions and be a responsible firearm owner. You have 7 days to complete the online portion of the course.
8) How do I get a CCW Application Kit?
Once you have completed the online course, you will receive a link to schedule your CCW Verification | Q & A Session (10-15 minutes) to meet in-person with one of our Certified Instructors at one of our offices in Scottsdale or Tucson (AZ), Las Vegas (NV) or Costa Mesa (CA). During this session, you will have an opportunity to ask any questions that you may have. The instructor will verify your identification, review the application with you and issue you a signed Certificate Of Completion, along with a personalized CCW Application Kit which consists of the following:
Note: You must obtain CERTIFIED funds (cashier’s check or money order made out to “AZ DPS”) in the amount of $60.
9) How much does it cost for an Arizona CCW Permit?
The Arizona Department of Public Safety (AZDPS) charges $60 to process your application and it could take about 75 days to receive your Arizona Concealed Carry of Weapons Permit. The fee for renewals is $43.
Once you complete the Online Course we will send you a complete AZDPS Application Kit and detailed instructions. You will receive everything you need, Application, Fingerprint Cards, Instructor Signed Certificate of Completion and an Addressed Envelope. You will need to mail the completed kit along with the $60 cashier's check or money order made out to The Arizona Department of Public Safety.
10) Is it required that I complete range time to obtain a CCW Permit?
As of 2010, Arizona laws have changed and do not make it required for a student to qualify on the range to obtain a CCW Permit. Therefore, you do not need to worry about range qualification to complete the course. We do however, strongly recommend that you consider professional instruction if you are considering a firearm for concealed carry or home defense. We have a list of highly qualified instructors and can help match your needs with the right instructor and next-steps in personal protection. If you are interested in Private Shooting Lessons for one-on-one training or for family or group sessions we can help as well. Call 1-602-300-3550 to discuss your needs for fill out this Custom Private Instruction Form.
11) How long does it take until I receive my permit in the mail?
Our students are reporting that they are receiving their permit card approxmiately between 1-4 weeks. Please allow 75 days for the Concealed Weapons Permit Unit Department to process your application. If you have not received your permit after 75 days, please contact AZDPS directly.
12) How do I get my fingerprints completed?
We include (2) fingerprint cards in the AZ CCW Application Kit. You may get them completed on your own. Or, for your convenience we offer this service during your in-person CCW Verification | Q & A Session for an additional fee. Please note that fingerprinting must be performed by a technician properly to ensure that your application is not rejected by The Arizona Department of Public Safety. Our technicians wear protective equipment for your safety.
If you are interested in booking an appointment for mobile fingerprinting service at an additional fee, please complete this form. Prices for mobile service may vary according to schedule and your location.
***If you do not see your question on this page, contact us!***
Limited Time Offer: Get Course Now For $59! (Normally $100)
FREE bonus course covering NFA TRUSTS ($59 value) when you sign up for any one of our AZ CCW Courses.
© 2023 | All Rights Reserved | F.A.S.T., L.L.C. | Powered by Range Force X